Challenge Yourself!

You all know I’m a reader and I’m certainly around books all day.  My iPad is loaded with titles from KCLS and SPL and goes just about everywhere with me so I’m tearing through books like nobody’s business (I just heard my Grandpa King say that phrase in my mind so had to use it).  I’m working on two reading challenges this year:  YALSA’s HUB challenge of award-winning books for young adults and one from http://www.popsugar.com.  I’ve read (physical book, ebook and audio) 32 titles in 2016.

I’m enjoying most of the HUB challenge titles but do need a break from the books written for teens.  The Popsugar challenge has a list of 40 kinds of books to read, not specific titles.  Here are a few of the options:  a book  you haven’t read since high school, a book set in your home state, a book you can finish in a day, a political memoir, a book with a blue cover, the first book you see in a bookstore, and a book that takes place on an island.  I’ve read just four books for Popsugar:  a book set in Europe (Mr. Churchill’s Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal), a New York Times bestseller (The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman), a graphic novel (The Unsinkable Walker Bean by Aaron Renier), and a murder mystery (ok, I was an over-achiever and listened to the first three Maisie Dobbs books by Jacqueline Winspear).

Are you working on a reading challenge this year?  What books are you reading now?  Please comment–let’s share titles of books we love!

Currently reading – Modoc: The True Story of the Greatest Elephant that Ever Lived by Ralph Helfer, for Popsugar: a book recommended by someone you just met

Leave a Reply

