I Now Love My Couch!

Shopping Saturday in the old part of Ulus, a commercial district in Ankara.  Spent much more than I’d expected to but happy with every single purchase.  Best buy was at the first stop–my friend Susan took us to a rug shop.  Couldn’t make my mind up which rug(s) to buy but did come home with a beautiful wool covering for my couch.

IMG_1608

While walking to a small restaurant for kofta (meatball) sandwiches, we passed this house.  Notice how the exterior walls have been taken off (fallen off?) and the interior of the wall shows a hodge-podge of materials.  There is a small chair hanging in one corner that doesn’t show well in the photo.  I’m curious about the story of this house but no one was around to answer questions.

IMG_1600

This was my second trip to Ulus in the last couple of weeks and it seems much like it was when I lived here in 1987-1988.  Nice to have some things stay the same (as in the house above) and not be gobbled up by development.

Leave a Reply

